Board of Directors

Tim Yeo, Chairman

Tim Yeo has been MP for South Suffolk since 1983. Before entering Parliament, Tim held a number of posts in business and was on the board of a number of quoted companies. Since 2010 he has been Chairman of the Energy and Climate Change Select Committee. Tim holds a number of non-executive directorships in the energy and health sectors. Appointed Chairman of TMO Renewables Limited in November 2010.

Robert Parker, Acting Chief Executive Officer

A commercially astute Chief Financial Officer, presently acting as Chief Executive Officer. Robert enjoys the entrepreneurial spirit within businesses and is experienced in both the strategic and operational development of international and UK companies. A track record of fundraising in private and public sectors. 

Prior positions include Finance Director of Immedia Broadcasting PLC – an AIM listed business and leading provider of live, in-store radio. CFO of Manquehue (Minority Holding of National Grid), a Chilean based telecoms provider.

Dr Steven M Martin, Research Director

Previously Head of Fermentation at Cubist Pharmaceuticals, responsible for the UK pilot plant and the fermentation activities at two manufacturing sites in Italy. Joined TMO in 2005. Directly responsible for proprietary research programmes, managing the process biotechnology, fermentation and analytical groups. Also responsible for scaling up TMO’s fermentation process to manufacturing scale.

Has more than 15 years’ industrial experience in microbial fermentation and written more than 20 peer-reviewed scientific papers.

Peter Allen, Senior Independent
Non-Executive Director

Currently serves as Non-Executive Chairman on the Boards of Future plc, ProStrakan Group plc, Chroma Therapeutics Ltd and Proximagen Neuroscience plc. He is also a Non-Executive Director of Oxford Nanoscience Technologies Ltd.

Was Chief Financial Officer of Abacus Group plc from April 2005 until the company was sold to Avnet Inc in January 2009.  Prior to this he was Chief Financial Officer of Celltech Group plc between 1992 and 2004. In addition to managing Celltech’s flotation process in 1993, Peter played a key role in several strategic acquisitions, including Chiroscience Group plc, Medeva plc and Oxford Glycosciences plc. In 2003 Peter was also appointed Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Celltech until the company was sold to UCB in 2004. 

Jock Miller, Non-Executive Director

Jock Miller qualified as a chartered accountant with Coopers & Lybrand. He became Associate Director of Hanson PLC and then Chief Executive of Wassell PLC in 1988. He then spent three years in the private investment industry before becoming Chairman of Melrose in 2003. Chairman of TMO Renewables Limited until 2010.

Nick Rodgers, Non-Executive Director

A highly experienced and successful corporate financier with considerable track record of fundraising and transactions for small and medium sized businesses in the UK.  Significant exposure to companies in the healthcare, medical, biotechnology and environmental sectors. Has advised on over 100 acquisitions or disposals, some 40 flotations and 20 takeovers.

Has held prior positions with Ernst & Young, the London Stock Exchange and Evolution Securities (formerly Beeson Gregory).  A founder and Chief Executive of Ipso Ventures plc, Chairman and senior independent non-executive director of Oxford BioMedica plc and a non-executive director of Morvus Technology Limited.